why

Life happens.

That’s common sense, right? Time passes, and infinitely many things are occurring at any given point in time. From my end, I’m writing these words. That’s a combination of me processing my thoughts, which are chemical signals, then typing them out to form words, which is also something I have to think about. You’re reading them. That’s a similar process.

Those are the instantaneous things. You and I don’t really think about them.

But then there are bigger things. The past few weeks have been hard. Just really tough. Not for any one reason in particular, but a combination of them that has just made me frustrated and tired. Nothing serious, don’t get worried–it’s just the bulk of it. And it’s not just me. I mean, a lot of what I’ve felt the past while doesn’t even affect me personally.

I know people who have lost friends, family or people they care about. Other people I know have gotten huge, potentially life-shattering news. Things have been said and done that probably shouldn’t have been. Conversely, there were several missed opportunities.

The word of the day: why?

The definition of the word (seriously, I looked it up) is as follows, according to Merriam-Webster: for what cause, reason, or purpose.

Simple but loaded.

Because sometimes, there’s not a cause, reason or purpose for much of anything. I don’t know WHY people have to die. I don’t know WHY people have to move. I don’t know WHY people you love have to hurt. I don’t know WHY we are subject to change; sometimes very uncomfortable change. I wish I did. That would make this whole thing way easier–if I could explain exactly why everything that happens happens.

Unfortunately, I can’t.

The point of this little post is to be, hopefully, some encouragement to those of you reading it who need it. There are some specific people I’m thinking of as I’m writing this, yes, whose stories I know–but some that I don’t. Whoever and wherever you are, I hope you understand this:

You don’t need to know why. I promise you, there is absolutely a reason for whatever storm you’re going through right now. I won’t pretend I understand how you feel, because I’m not you. However I can say for a fact that there’s someone who a) does know exactly what’s going through your head right now and b) truly deeply cares about it.

Named Jesus.

It’s a well-worn, oft-quoted verse, but still holds true. “Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.” (‭1 Peter‬ ‭5‬:‭7‬)

There’s more: “They will have no fear of bad news; their hearts are steadfast, trusting in the Lord.” (‭Psalm‬ ‭112‬:‭7‬)

“Are not two sparrows sold for a penny? Yet not one of them will fall to the ground outside your Father’s care. And even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. So don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.” (‭Matthew‬ ‭10‬:‭29-31‬)

Or this particularly humbling one, “what is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them?” (‭Psalm‬ ‭8‬:‭4‬)

Point is, God has this. Whatever this is. And you in turn can rest in that.

I know, I know. That’s really really really hard to do sometimes. But you can. You don’t need to worry. There’s a purpose. Yes, it feels pointless right now and you might be angry or scared or any number of things, but you can rest. You don’t have to know why.

If you need someone to talk to–any of you reading this–know that I’m absolutely here anytime for whatever.

But in the meantime, take it to God. There is a why. You just might not see it–but it’s there.

Keep fighting the good fight.

Leave a Reply

