the rest of the story

I’ve been really busy lately.

It’s May, which means the schoolwork is piling up. There are essays and finals to be done. Oh, and studying for said finals. Every second I spend not doing that, my GPA is withering away. (Kidding. Mostly. Sort of?) And when I’m not doing that, I’m dealing with maintaining a social life, and sleeping, and all the other things I do

It’s chaotic at best.

I need a break. I really do. I’m not just talking about summer, although that couldn’t come fast enough. I need to rest. Not sleep. Just rest.

Rest is like doing nothing, but not boredom. It’s just sitting and breathing. Intentionally.

I’ll be honest. I’ve been kind of overwhelmed recently. All my haphazard bitterness aside, school wrapping up is really work heavy. After that, summer will be busy. College tours are on the itinerary, which brings up a whole other list of things I have to think about. I’m moving to boarding school next fall, which is a transition on so many levels.

I get anxious just thinking about how crazy life is. I’m not complaining. It’s awesome that I live where I do, that I go to school, to camp, that I will go to college, that I have the resources to go to a boarding school in Europe. My life is not at all terrible. Seriously. I love it.

That doesn’t mean it doesn’t get hard sometimes. You know what I mean.

So back to the point. Resting.

I’m going to talk about Jesus now, because that’s how I think about rest.

You know that “carrying burdens” thing people throw around? Yeah. It seems trivial, but logarithms, for this Algebra II student, count as a burden. Finals. Work. Relationships. Anything that bothers you, stresses you out or, like logs, make you wish it didn’t exist. Whatever. It’s a burden.

Jesus is the cool part of this because He makes that not a problem. Yes, I still need to learn how to transform logs. But I shouldn’t worry about that.

I can rest in the fact that it’s all under control. Maybe the analogy is better applied to something like the boarding school nerves, that’s more abstract than a series of numbers and formulas.

I will be okay when I get there. It’s already taken care of.

Like, look at this:

Truly my soul finds rest in God;
 my salvation comes from him. Truly he is my rock and my salvation; he is my fortress, I will never be shaken (Psalms 62:1-2).

Or here’s an even better one, taken from Psalm 46:10: Be still and know that I am God.

It’s one of my mom’s favorite verses (happy Mother’s Day!) because of all the different ways you can say it, and each time its meaning changes ever so slightly.

“Be STILL and know that I am God.” Rest is important.

“Be still and KNOW that I am God.” I’m here. I’ve got this.

“Be still and know that I am God.” Me. No one else. Just Me.

“Be still and know that I am GOD.” That means holy, all-powerful, all-knowing, and all-loving.

See how much rest can do for you? There are way more verses that touch on that.

Bottom line, it’s good for you.

So right now, I’m intentionally resting. I’m using this as a tool. As of this writing, I’m sitting by the compound pool, with a playlist that consists mostly of All Sons and Daughters, with some Jesus Culture, Bethel and Passion, among others. I sit still after every sentence or so and just be.

 This song has become one of my favorites for such an occasion.

At first, my brain is screaming at me to do something. Then it all kind of just stops. It’s rest.

There is stuff you need to do. I know it feels like there’s not enough time to do it all.

I promise there is. It can wait. Take 5, 10 minutes and just rest. Don’t think about work. Don’t think about everything wrong in your life. Rest. Where your heart’s at is so much more important than all that.

So take a few and rest.

Leave a Reply

