braveness

There are hundreds of these things that go unwritten. Every couple hours or so, I’ll get an idea and think, “hey! You should write about that for the blog!”…and then I forget. Or get too busy. Or decide against it. Or, the most common: I get scared. 

Yes, I know you people are reading this and I want to be proud of what I put here. I want those random Facebook acquaintances to be able to read this and get an accurate representation of me. I want to have family, friends, teachers, and strangers in my audience and not alienate any of them. I want to be the best version of myself I can be. This is, after all, the Internet.

However.

I want to write real things. Things that matter and mean something. I don’t want to write because I want to look good. I want to write things that are important.

The fear I have as it relates to this is most likely of some combination of rejection and failure and people not liking me. Which are all legitimate, and everyone deals with them. The problem comes when I use that as an excuse to not do things. I let that fear define me. I keep it from me writing things I want to write, but even beyond that, in daily life: from saying things, doing things, speaking up, raising my hand, going and talking to that person–you know, high school stuff.

Zoom out and look at the big picture. This isn’t just for me or about me and my little tiny self on this little tiny, minuscule blog. This is a really important, and incredibly powerful concept: being brave.

I think I tend to pigeonhole bravery into the category of knights of yor or being a YA novel hero. It’s not. It’s a real thing that catalyzes change. The dictionary on my MacBook defines brave as “ready to face and endure danger or pain; showing courage [the ability to do something frightening].”

Y’all. If we did the things that we knew would bring danger and/or pain and went into it steeled and ready and ignoring the screaming fear, how different would our world look? I know, this pushes into every-Christian-living-book-ever territory, and I don’t think I’m saying anything new here.

Humor me. We live in a crazy world. Look at the news. Look at your Facebook. Unimaginable things are happening. There are so, so many things worth saying and doing. Even if you’re 16. Even if you’re only in college. Even if you think you’re too old or too young or not influential enough.

I know it’s hard.

I know it’s scary.

I know it’s intimidating.

Be. Brave.

Here’s a link to a Bethel song because it’s awesome and about being brave.

Leave a Reply

